Friday, April 30, 2010

A proposal for new community focused on web performance

I've been really impressed with the StackExchange platform (http://www.stackexchange.com, made by the same people that run stackoverflow.com), and I feel that it could be an extremely effective platform to host a web performance focused community. They built the platform from scratch in order to improve on the innate flaws with regular threaded discussion boards (e.g. Yahoo forums, Google Groups, phpBB, vBulletin, etc.). More importantly, the platform walks the line between incentivizing quick answers (for immediate feedback), and keeping answers from getting obsolete over time.

My hope is that this site becomes an evolving source of definitive answers on web performance best practices, tips, tool tricks, book recommendations, data exchange, etc.

The process to make this a reality is:
1. Submit a proposal for peer review
2. If there is enough support (votes), it moves on to the next stage.
3. People that would like to participate in the community (and help manage it) sign up
4. The details of the community get ironed out (moderators, name, tags, etc.)
5. It goes public

I've gone ahead and submitted the initial proposal (step 1):
http://meta.stackexchange.com/questions/5821/proposal-for-stackexchange-site-focused-on-web-site-performance

I'm just here to get the initial ball rolling, but from here on out it's going to be all about the greater community. This next stage, where everyone votes on the proposals, is going to make or break the concept. It's already received a good amount of votes, but it's going to take a lot more support to push it forward. If you think this has legs, and can see the value, vote it up!

4 comments:

  1. Here's my concern with this... Discussion and information is already fragmented across Stack Overflow and Server Fault. As a server admin guy I tend to use Server Fault but then I keep finding relevant discussions about server stuff on Stack Overflow. If we spawn off a newer one, then the problem will just get worse - a couple questions will appear in the new one, but good discussions will also be embedded in the other two.

    Perhaps just strongly promoting use of a specific tag within the existing communities for ease of reference?

    ReplyDelete
  2. Definitely a valid concern, and the last thing I want to do is create more fragmentation. However, I think it will be easier to rally everyone to a central focused forum than to convince people to use a certain tag or to use a broadly focused site like SO/SF. Today when I have questions about web performance, there's really no place to go where I know performance experts will be able to help, and I know there are plenty of them out there.

    This discussion is really important though, and the approach StackExchange is taking is a good one, since it's based on grassroots support, which will be critical in the success of these communities.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete