Thursday, September 23, 2010

Facebook downtime

Facebook has been experiencing some major downtime today in various locations around the world:

"After issues at a third-party networking provider took down Facebook for some users on Wednesday, the social networking site is once again struggling to stay online.
The company reports latency issues with its API on itsdeveloper site, but the problem is clearly broader than that with thousands of users tweeting about the outage.
On our end when we attempt to access Facebook, we’re seeing the message: “Internal Server Error – The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.” Facebook “Like” buttons also appear to be down on our site and across the Web"
Details are still sketchy (there's speculation Akamai is at fault). And that's the problem. It's almost all speculation right now. The official word from facebook is simply:
"We are currently experiencing latency issues with the API, and we are actively investigating. We will provide an update when either the issue is resolved or we have an ETA for resolution."
That's not going to cut it when you have 500+ millions, and countless developers (Zynga must be freaking out right now). I'm seeing about 400 tweets/second complaining about the downtime. Outages will happen. The problem isn't the downtime itself. Where Facebook is missing the boat is using this opportunity to build increased trust with their user and developer community by simply opening up the curtains a bit and telling us something useful. I've seen some movement from Facebook on this front before. But there's much more they can do, and I'm hoping this experience pushes them in the right drirection. Give us back a sense of control and we'll be happy
P.S. You can watch for updates here, here, and here.

41 comments:

  1. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete
  2. This reminds me when this one time I went to this new restaurant and I was amazed that so many people are willing to pay extra for what they could get at half the price somewhere else. Agen Poker

    ReplyDelete
  3. I find your opinion quite interesting, but the other day I stumbled upon a completely different advice from another blogger, I need to think that one through, thanks for posting. Poker Online Indonesia

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thanks, great post. I really like your point of view! Judi Poker

    ReplyDelete
  5. I really liked this part of the article, with a nice and interesting topics
    Agen Domino

    ReplyDelete
  6. Your post so Inspirative and good point.
    Thanks, great post. I really like your point of view!
    Bandar Ceme

    ReplyDelete
  7. That’s awesome! This post gives truly quality information. I love this post it very interesting and helpful for us, Thank for sharing all, Thank you so much. Poker Bonus Deposit Terbesar

    ReplyDelete
  8. Thanks for sharing nice information with us. I really liked this part of the article, This is truly awesome article. Bonus Member Baru Poker Online

    ReplyDelete
  9. Wow. good post. I’d like to write like this too , taking time and real hard work to make a great article. Thanks for sharing. Bonus Deposit Poker

    ReplyDelete
  10. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have made in writing this article , Your article very well and good, thanks for posting. Judi Capsa

    ReplyDelete
  11. It is a good and amazing article. Your information is very useful for me and for others. thank you so much. BoyaQQ

    ReplyDelete
  12. This article is very good, I like this article, thanks for sharing. Link Alternatif BoyaQQ

    ReplyDelete
  13. Good Job And continue to make useful articles.
    Link Alternatif BoyaQQ

    ReplyDelete
  14. Your articles were very nice and full of information.
    BoyaQQ

    ReplyDelete
  15. Very Fantastic article, I really like your point of view!
    Good Job And continue to make useful articles.
    DominoHP.net Agen Poker Online Terpercaya

    ReplyDelete
  16. This is great, you are good, i like your post and i still waiting our next post
    Bandar Ceme

    ReplyDelete
  17. This is so interesting, I have never seen this before , Nice Post. Bandar Domino

    ReplyDelete
  18. Thanks for this wonderful post and hoping to post more of this. Bandar QQ

    ReplyDelete
  19. great post. I really like your point of view!
    Bandar Ceme

    ReplyDelete
  20. I need to think that one through, thanks for posting.
    Domino Qiu Qiu

    ReplyDelete
  21. Thanks, guys you always provide useful information through your articles
    Agen Domino

    ReplyDelete
  22. Really a nice content i am going to bookmark your site thanks
    Domino QQ

    ReplyDelete
  23. Your blog information is nice and friendly. This post is very helpful for me. Thank for post.
    Judi Ceme

    ReplyDelete
  24. This is impressive and also great information, This is excellent. Judi Domino

    ReplyDelete
  25. This is really very nice blog and so informative, I would like to thank you for all the information you give. Domino 99

    ReplyDelete
  26. Absolutely really Amazing Articel and good point in there.
    Thanks shared.
    Dominoqiu

    ReplyDelete
  27. Given that it is originating from outside readymag.com the Play Store, Android will certainly attempt Website to prevent the setup. However, Fildo Android, PC, iPhone & APK Download you can bypass that by making it possible for Unknown Resources. Fildo APK Download This is exactly how you do it Downloading the APK and also enabling Fildo Fildo APK download for Android is offered from a third-party source.

    ReplyDelete
  28. Nice Post, and good Information for this site.
    Thanks for shared!!
    Dominoqq

    ReplyDelete
  29. Nice Post, and good Information for this site.
    Thanks for shared!!
    Dominoqq

    ReplyDelete
  30. Thanks for posting, this is really amazing.
    BandarQQ Online

    ReplyDelete
  31. Some of these information are really amazing. Thank you for giving me good information.
    Situs BandarQQ

    ReplyDelete
  32. I would like to thank you for all the information you give. information your is useful to me.
    BandarQQ Terpercaya

    ReplyDelete
  33. Thanks shared.
    I need to think that one through, thanks for posting.
    Domino qiu qiu

    ReplyDelete