Tuesday, March 2, 2010

A guideline for postmortem communication

Building on previous posts, the following is a proposed Guideline for Postmortem Communication:

Prerequisites:
  1. Admit failure - Hiding downtime is no longer an option
  2. Sound like a human - Do not use a standard template, do not apologize for "inconveniencing" us
  3. Have a communication channel - Set up a process to handle incidents prior the event (e.g. public health dashboard, status blog, twitter account, etc.)
  4. Above all else, be authentic - You must be believed to be heard
Requirements:
  1. Start time and end time of the incident
  2. Who/what was impacted - Should I be worried about this incident?
  3. What went wrong - What broke and how you fixed it (with insight into the root cause analysis process)
  4. Lessons learned - What's being done to improve the situation for the future, in technology, process, and communication
Bonus:
  1. Details on the technologies involved
  2. Answers to the Five Why's
  3. Human elements - heroic efforts, unfortunate coincidences, effective teamwork, etc
  4. What others can learn from this experience

11 comments:

  1. Hello,

    I've prepared a Checklist based on this post. You may find it useful: A-guideline-for-postmortem-communication

    Regards,
    KIR

    ReplyDelete
  2. I thought I'd share my experience using this format at my company. I recently transition into a very business and end-customer facing role managing our external and portions of our internal website. In moving into this role, one of my main goals was to improve communication to my stakeholders around downtime events. Adoption of this guideline for these communications has been the single biggest improvement we've made.

    The first time I sent one out, I was completely overwhelmed by the amount of positive feedback and support I received. The key indicator of success for me was that this support was equally divided among my IT development and business stakeholder counterparts. The only area we need to improve now is the timeliness of the delivery.

    As IT folks, we struggle with this because we want to have all the answers, but sometimes this just isn't possible. We've started including "We don't know right now"-type answers and then following up later. If anything, I think this contributes to the "Sound like a human" goal and our stakeholders genuinely appreciate the transparency and honesty.

    Apologies for the long comment, but thanks so much for the great guideline!

    Jeff

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'm from the same organization as Jeff; we've found these guidelines to be very helpful and this blog to be a great resource as we design our own communication and dashboards for our new SaaS offerings. Keep up the great work!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Comments like these make this whole blogging thing worth it. I really appreciate the insight and support. Getting real world examples like this is huge for me.

    I'm actually giving a talk on this very topic in a few weeks (http://oreil.ly/9DJv5Z), that will attack the issue from a higher level. That's why it's been so quite on the blog. I'm going to post the slides/notes here right after the talk (6/23).

    If you don't mind, I'd like to quote from the comments above in the talk :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. I wished that too and thanked for the owner to dare the loss of space for more book shelves for people. deixar de fumar

    ReplyDelete
  6. I was very impressed by this post, this site has always been pleasant news Thank you very much. VideoVigilancia

    ReplyDelete
  7. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete